facebook twitter blogger goodreads email
terry shames terry shames
The Necessary Murder of Nonie Blake FLASH: Here's a peek at the cover of the next book in the Samuel Craddock series, The Necessary Murder of Nonie Blake, due out January 12, 2016. Read more.
The Last Death of Jack Harbin
The Last Death of Jack Harbin (January 2014) , second in the Samuel Craddock series, was nominated for a Macavity Award for Best Novel, by the Mystery Readers International. I'm honored to part of this roster of phenomenal writers.

Check out the full list of nominees in all categories.

A Deadly Affair at Bobtail Ridge

A Deadly Affair at Bobtail Ridge, book 4 in the series, is now available. It can be purchased at your favorite local bookstore or online here:
Indiebound Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million Kobo

Praise for A Deadly Affair at Bobtail Ridge

"This is the fourth—and most complex—book in the Samuel Craddock series, novels that have established our hero as one of the most engaging new central characters in American crime fiction.... Craddock's persistent nosing around makes for an absorbing narrative, leading to a conclusion far more horrifying than anything the reader could ever imagine."
   —Toronto Star

"Shames wonderfully evokes small-town Texas life and Samuel is a slow-talking but certainly not slow-witted hero squarely in the Walt Longmire vein. This emotional fourth installment (after Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek) from the Macavity Award winner will surely satisfy series fans."
   —Library Journal, March 1, 2015

"You can feel the Texas wind blow and the dirt dust up beneath your feet as Shames delivers another solid installment in the Samuel Craddock series. The mystery flows seamlessly in Craddock's capable hands as each new clue leads to more shocking revelations. The characters add authenticity and texture as decent, hard-working citizens intermingle with those who skirt the edges of the law."
   —RT Book Reviews, (4 1/2 stars FANTASTIC—Keeper), April 2015

"Fans of Robert B. Parker's Jesse Stone, Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire, and C.J. Box's Joe Pickett will adore this series that features a strong law enforcement officer, sly dialogue, and skillfully complex characters."
   —Kings River Life Magazine April, 2015


Every Wednesday please join me on my blog, Subject to Change. I talk about writing, reading, and other aspects of the writing life. And sometimes the subject is completely different.